All Of It

WNYC

About

ALL OF IT is a show about culture and its consumers.

ALL OF IT is a show about culture and context.

ALL OF IT is a show about culture and the culture.


Our aim is to engage the thinkers, doers, makers, and creators, about the what and why of their work. People make the culture and we hope, need, and want the WNYC community to be a part of our show. As we build a community around ALL OF IT, we know that every guest and listener has an opinion. We won’t always agree, but our varied perspectives and diversity of experience is what makes New York City great.


ALL OF IT will be both companion for and curator of the myriad culture this city has to offer. In the words of Cristina De Rossi, anthropologist at Barnet and Southgate College, London:


"Culture encompasses religion, food, what we wear, how we wear it, our language, marriage, music, what we believe is right or wrong, how we sit at the table, how we greet visitors, how we behave with loved ones, and a million other things."


...In other words, ALL OF IT.


---

Join us for ALL OF IT with Alison Stewart, weekdays from 12:00 - 2:00PM on WNYC.

Available on

Community

1301 episodes

Reimagining Chronic Illness

[REBROADCAST FROM May 12, 2022] Navigating the nebulous world of chronic illness can be frustrating for patients, especially when their illness is not outwardly visible. Roughly six out of ten Americans suffer from at least one chronic illness, and many of these illnesses are poorly understood, and difficult to diagnose and treat. And now, with the emergence of "long-COVID," more people are grappling with what it might mean to live with chronic illness. A new book by Meghan O'Rourke, /people/meghan-orourke/, investigates the history of Western notions of "health" versus "illness," what it means to be "ill," and how we might reimagine these definitions to create a world where navigating the uncertainty of chronic illness is less frightening. O'Rourke joins us to discuss.

20m
Aug 11
Listening Party: Elvis Costello, 'A Boy Named If'

[REBROADCAST FROM January 14, 2022] Elvis Costello's /people/elvis-costellos/ new album, The Boy Named If https://shop.elviscostello.com/products/elvis-costello-the-imposters-the-boy-named-if-hardback-book-cd, will appeal especially to fans of the singer-songwriter's Attractions-era rock and roll records. Costello also recently released a Spanish-language version of his 1978 album, This Year's Model. Costello joins us for a Listening Party, and to read some short stories from the book that accompanies the new album which he will perform songs from at Pier 17 tonight https://www.pier17ny.com/events/elvis-costello-the-imposters/#:~:text=Elvis%20Costello%20%26%20The%20Imposters%20are,sale%20now%20at%20Ticketmaster.com. 

49m
Aug 11
How To Write Your Memoir

Everyone has a story to tell. Whether it was some crazy life adventure, a family history, or a personal reflection, memoir writing is a great way to make sense of the world and our place in it. Maybe you've even started writing yourself. But it's not easy to write personal stories. The process can be intimidating, vulnerable, and uncomfortable. Cullen Thomas /people/cullen-thomas/, a teacher at Gotham Writers, and Briallen Hopper /people/briallen-hopper/, an associate professor at Queens College, both teach memoir writing to aspiring writers, and they join us to talk about the basic skills needed to write creative and narrative-driven non-fiction, how to dig deeper into your own story, and take calls from listeners for any writing questions or to give advice on your own memoir ideas.

1h 4m
Aug 11
How to be the World's Worst Assistant

Sona Movsesian /people/sona-movsesian/, Conan O’Brien’s longtime assistant and cohost of his podcast, Conan O'Brien Needs a Friend, pens a how-to guide for becoming a horrible assistant while keeping a job. She shares her secrets with us and discusses her new book,

24m
Aug 10
The Teenage Punks of 1970s New York City

In the late 1970s, punk music was particularly popular amongst teenagers. In New York City, they filled clubs like CBGB, Max's Kansas City, Hurrah, and TR3. They also formed bands. Tim Sommer /people/tim-sommer/, journalist and former record executive, recently wrote about this era of New York City music history for the New York Times in the article "In the Late ’70s, Teen Punks Ruled New York. These Are Their Stories https://www.nytimes.com/2022/08/03/arts/music/teen-punk-bands-nyc.html." He joins us to discuss the piece alongside Kate Schellenbach /people/kate-schellenbach/, founding member of the Beastie Boys and drummer for Luscious Jackson who was a teenage punk in the 70s herself. Plus, we take your calls of your memories of the 70s New York punk scene.

22m
Aug 10
Traversing the Tumultuous Terrain of Ticketing

In the last year, many of us have celebrated getting to go to concerts again... but that also means having to brave the experience of ticketing again. Exorbitantly-priced tickets to Bruce Springsteen's latest tour were recently in the headlines, but that's just the tip of the iceberg, with further issues like bots and resellers making the ticket-buying process all the more stressful. A new New York state law attempting to address issues with the ticket industry, which, among other changes, requires ticket vendors to show prices including fees upfront and resellers to display a ticket's original price, goes into effect at the end of the month. But will that make ticketing any less dreaded for lovers of live music? Ethan Millman /people/ethan-millman/, a staff writer covering the music industry for Rolling Stone, joins us to discuss.

17m
Aug 10
Looking Back on One-Term Presidents

This week marks the 48th anniversary of Gerald Ford taking office, becoming one in a growing list of one-term Presidents. Donald Trump might be angling to remove himself from that list by running again in 2024, and there has been much speculation about whether President Biden will only serve one term. To take a look at the legacy of one-term Presidents, we are joined by historian, Princeton history professor, and author Julian Zelizer /people/julian-zelizer/.

14m
Aug 10
A Summer of Jazz Photography at the Newark Museum of Art

This summer at the Newark Museum of Art, two exhibitions have highlighted intimate photographs of jazz musicians of the 20th century. The first, Billie Holiday at Sugar Hill: Photographs by Jerry Dantzic https://newarkmuseumart.org/exhibition/billie-holiday-at-sugar-hill/, displays the photographs Dantzic took of Holiday during her week-long residency at the Sugar Hill nightclub in Newark in 1957. The second exhibition is titled, Jazz Greats: Classic Photographs from the Bank of America Collection https://newarkmuseumart.org/exhibition/jazz-greats/, which highlights photographs of jazz greats like Dizzy Gillespie, Ella Fitzgerald and others sitting in on jam sessions, recording in the studio, and living in their private life. Millicent Matthews /people/millicent-matthews/, manager of travelling exhibitions, and Catherine Evans /people/catherine-evans/, deputy director of collections and curatorial strategies at the Newark Museum of Art, join to discuss the importance of these photographs and what else you can expect to see. Both exhibitions are on display until August 21.

15m
Aug 10
2022 Debuts: 'Nuclear Family' by Joseph Han

The new novel, , tells the story of a Korean family living in Hawai'i grappling with their oldest son's bizarre attempt to cross the Demilitarized Zone and enter into North Korea. Author Joseph Han /people/joseph-han/ joins us to discuss the book as part of our series, 2022 Debuts.

13m
Aug 09
Why Do Slurs Hurt? And More Questions About Cussing

After Beyoncé and Lizzo both retroactively removed ableist slurs from their recent releases, we wanted to learn how some words start out or become offensive, why they're hurtful, and whether marginalized communities can 'reclaim' words used against them. Two linguists join us to explain: Dr. Deborah Tannen /people/deborah-tannen/ is a professor of Linguistics at Georgetown University, and author of ; and Benjamin K. Bergen /people/benjamin-k-bergen/ is director of the Language and Cognition Lab https://langcoglab.ucsd.edu/ at University of California, San Diego. Plus, listeners call in to tell us about their experiences with hurtful language.  

34m
Aug 09
Planning Your Trip to the Jamaica Bay Wildlife Refuge

It's hot in New York City right now, but that doesn't mean you can't find ways to get outdoors and enjoy the summer. One option is a visit to the Jamaica Bay Wildlife Refuge in Queens, which has over 12,000 acres of protected land, fresh and saltwater marshes, and home to one of the largest bird habitats in the northeast. As part of our series highlighting outdoor recreational activities to do in New York, we speak with Terri Carta /people/terri-carta/, executive director for the Jamaica Bay-Rockaway Park Conservancy http://www.jbrpc.org/ and Rick Jenkins /people/rick-jenkins/, a National Park Service ranger for the Gateway National Recreation Area https://www.nps.gov/gate/index.htm, to learn more about the Wildlife Refuge and its history.  

14m
Aug 09
Celebrating Olivia Newton-John

Olivia Newton-John, one of the biggest stars of the 70’s and 80’s, passed away yesterday. We look back at the career and legacy of the actor and musician with NPR music critic Ann Powers /people/ann-powers/.

14m
Aug 09
'A League of Their Own' Gets a Spinoff

Thirty years ago this summer, the movie starring Madonna and Tom Hanks, became a hit. Now, the movie has inspired a spinoff tv series with new characters. Joining us to discuss the new series is executive producer Will Graham /people/will-graham/, and Abbi Jacobson /people/abbi-jacobson/, executive producer who also stars in the show as the character Carson. "A League of Their Own" premieres on Prime Video on August 12.

19m
Aug 09
Summer TV Review/Preview

Vulture television critic Kathryn VanArendonk /people/kathryn-vanarendonk/ joins for a Review/Preview of the hottest TV shows that have come out this summer, and some of the shows she's most looking forward to watching for the rest of the summer.

12m
Aug 08
What's Your Favorite Pen?

Thank you notes, post cards, school assignments--a good pen can make all the difference. We talk to listeners about their favorite pens and get some recommendations from blogger and host of the podcast, The Pen Addict https://www.penaddict.com/, Brad Dowdy /people/brad-dowdy/.

34m
Aug 08
How Popular Music Got Into House

Beyoncé's latest album, Renaissance, and Drake's new album, Honestly, Nevermind, are both strongly influenced by 90s house music, foreshadowing a revival for the style. Music critic Craig Seymour /people/craig-seymour/ explains the origins of house music and its influences on pop music as a genre.  

17m
Aug 08
T Bone Burnett on 'The Invisible Light: Spells,' New Recording Technology

T Bone Burnett /people/t-bone-burnett/ is a multi-Grammy-winning producer, songwriter, and guitarist. Though he's widely known for his role in the bluegrass boom of the 21st century, his work has also explored the avant garde. His new album, The Invisible Light: Spells, is the second in a trilogy, mixing both folk and electronic elements. He also recently launched a new recording technology, called Ionic Originals, described as a hybrid of vinyl and CD. Burnett joins us.  

30m
Aug 08
Supporting Undocumented Parents and Navigating the Music Industry in 'Mija'

The new documentary follows two women from undocumented Mexican-American families, singer Jacks Haupt /people/jacks-haupt/ and manager/singer Doris Anahí Muñoz /people/doris-anahi-munoz/, as they navigate the music industry. Haupt, Muñoz and director Isabel Castro /people/isabel-castro/ join us to discuss the film. opens in NY theaters today and will premiere on Disney+ on September 16.

19m
Aug 05
'ClayDream' Offers a Portrait of the Father of Claymation

The new documentary offers a portrait of Will Vinton, the creator of The California Raisins, sometimes called the father of claymation. Director Marq Evans /people/marq-evans/ joins.

16m
Aug 05
We Need More Trees

As New York heads into another heatwave, let's talk about nature's AC--- trees! Our city could use more trees to help cool the weather and help improve the help of residents. But planting more trees can be unexpectedly challenging. Emily Maxwell /people/emily-maxwell/, New York City's program director of the Nature Conservancy https://www.nature.org/en-us/about-us/where-we-work/united-states/new-york/, and Sam Bishop /people/sam-bishop/, director of urban forestry and education for Trees New York https://treesny.org/, join us to discuss.

15m
Aug 05
What To Do This Weekend in NYC

Steve Smith /people/steve-smith/, culture and arts editor for WNYC/Gothamist, joins to give us some things to do in New York City this weekend that we should check out.

7m
Aug 05
Wealth and Silence

For writer -- and Brooklynite -- Xochitl Gonzalez /people/xochitl-gonzalez/, the sounds of home are noisy: friends yelling on the street, parents calling their kids, garbage trucks, sirens, cars blasting music. But when she returned to her neighborhood after a few years away, she found a lot of the newcomers who had moved in preferred a quieter landscape. She wrote about it in the essay "Why Do Rich People Love Quiet?" https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2022/09/let-brooklyn-be-loud/670600/ in the September issue of .

30m
Aug 05
100 New York Dining Tips from New York Magazine's Diner at Large

's diner-at-large Tammie Teclemariam /people/tammie-teclemariam/ is on a mission to try as many New York restaurants as possible in one year for her newsletter "The Year I Ate New York https://www.grubstreet.com/tags/the-year-i-ate-new-york/." She's now about halfway through her culinary journey, and had many tricks and suggestions to share from her piece "200 Restaurants, 100 Tips https://www.grubstreet.com/2022/06/100-restaurant-tips-year-i-ate-new-york.html," which includes advice like where to find the best dive bars, and what ice cream in New York reigns supreme. She joins us to discuss, and to take your calls on your best dining tips and tricks. In case you missed it, here's our full list of recommendations, from Tammie and the All Of It listeners: __ __

33m
Aug 04
Apple TV+'s Physical Wraps Up Season 2

Apple TV+’s "Physical https://tv.apple.com/us/show/physical/umc.cmc.6gdc6v4vwyaab7klocftv2s10?ctx_brand=tvs.sbd.4000&itscg=MC_20000&itsct=atvp_brand_omd&mttn3pid=Google%20AdWords&mttnagencyid=a5e&mttncc=US&mttnsiteid=143238&mttnsubad=OUS2019903_1-601227682467-c&mttnsubkw=128402029328__4Rqyo8R0_&mttnsubplmnt=" wraps on another season. Set in 1980s San Diego, the dark comedy follows Sheila Rubin, played by Rose Byrne, as she goes from tortured housewife to fitness guru. We discuss the show with creator Annie Weisman /people/annie-weisman/ ahead of the season 2 finale.

12m
Aug 04
How Did A24 Become Not Just a Studio, But a Brand?

It's been 10 years since the foundation of the film studio A24 https://a24films.com/, and in celebration this week, many of A24's most popular films have been added to HBO Max. In the past 10 years, A24 has become a recognizable film brand, with many devoted followers and fans. What has made their slate of films stand out from the crowd? We speak to pop culture reporter Sonia Rao /people/sonia-rao/about her piece, "How the indie studio behind and flourished while breaking Hollywood rules" https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/how-the-indie-studio-behind-moonlight-lady-bird-and-hereditary-flourished-while-breaking-hollywood-rules/2019/08/01/47094878-a4dc-11e9-bd56-eac6bb02d01d_story.html and take calls from listeners about their favorite A24 films.

15m
Aug 04
Remembering Nichelle Nichols' Legacy

Actor Nichelle Nichols, famous for her portrayal of Lieutenant Nyota Uhura in the "Star Trek" series, died on Sunday at age 89. Black Girl Nerds https://blackgirlnerds.com/founder and podcast host Jamie Broadnax /people/jamie-broadnax/ joins us to discuss what it meant to see a Black woman in a major role in a sci-fi television show for the first time. We also take your calls on Nichols and her legacy.

16m
Aug 04
'Let's Get Physical:' Exploring Women's Fitness

[REBROADCAST FROM JANUARY 7, 2022] Journalist Danielle Friedman /people/danielle-friedman/ reveals hidden history of contemporary women’s fitness culture in her new book  https://bookshop.org/books/let-s-get-physical-how-women-discovered-exercise-and-reshaped-the-world/9780593188422. Through a blend of reportage and personal narrative, each chapter uncovers the birth of a multibillion-dollar fitness industrial complex. The author joins us to discuss her findings.

16m
Aug 04
Christopher Soto's Poems of Safety, Violence and Justice

Poet Christopher Soto /people/christopher-soto/ discusses his latest book, . He tells us how he used verse to explore themes like safety, police violence and mass incarceration, and how he’s helping open up the literary world to more queer immigrant voices.

16m
Aug 03
Silvana Estrada's 'Marchita'

[REBROADCAST FROM January 27, 2022] Silvana Estrada /people/silvana-estrada/ is a rising singer-songwriter from Veracruz, Mexico, whom NPR's Alt.Latino has named one to watch for 2022. Her debut solo album, Marchita https://www.silvanaestrada.com/, whose title translates to "withered," explores heartbreak through minimalist, intimately recorded songs based in part in the folk tradition son jarocho. Estrada joins us for a Listening Party. Estrada will be performing a free concert at Summerstage in Central Park tonight https://cityparksfoundation.org/events/mija/.

13m
Aug 03
Commemorating the Late Great Bill Russell

11-time NBA Champion and 5-time MVP Bill Russell died at the age of 88 on Sunday. But Russell was always adamant he was more than an NBA superstar. At the end of the day, he wanted to be thought of as a man. Jemele Hill /people/jemele-hill/, contributing writer to , and Howard Bryant /people/howard-bryant/, senior writer for ESPN, join us to commemorate Bill Russell the man, Civil Rights activist, coach, and one of the greatest ever to play the game of basketball. Plus, we take your calls.

29m
Aug 03