Cork's 96fm Opinion Line

Cork's 96fm Opinion Line

About

Podcast by Cork's 96fm Opinion Line

Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy for more information.

Available on

Community

2489 episodes

2022-08-11 Watch out for Weeverfish, No home carers for Dad, Therapy for Chronic Pain & more

It’s hot out there - the beaches are packed - but watch where you’re walking - there’s weever fish everywhere....No help for Dad - one family's story of how a shortage of care workers is affecting their lives... Chronic Pain - could the answer be therapy and not just medication & lots more   * Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for more information.

2h 11m
Aug 11
Don't Have A Heatwave Doggy Tragedy

PJ gets hot weather tips from Maire O'Sullivan of Dog Action Welfare Group  * Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for more information.

7m
Aug 11
I'm Facing A Care Crisis With My Father

PJ talks to Sandra who has impossible care duties for her high dependency father with no professional carer help. * Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for more information.

22m
Aug 11
Help For Chronic Pain

Painkillers are not the only way to help with pain Keelin O'Dwyer a behavioural psychologist from Ireland's trusted online therapy fettle.ie tells PJ  * Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for more information.

10m
Aug 11
We Should Welcome Revamp Of Sex Education

Prof Louise Crowley Director of the UCC Bystander Intervention Program tells PJ sex education changes can't come soon enough. * Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for more information.

12m
Aug 11
Slow Cabins - A Holiday For Taking Back Control

Holidays should be about taking back control of your life and reengaging with your loved ones. Lisa Regan explains to PJ why she thinks Slow Cabins will allow you to do that with all the pitfalls taken care of. * Our GDPR privacy policy was updated on August 8, 2022. Visit acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for more information.

7m
Aug 11
2022-08-10 Living in my car, Could I have diabetes?, Vandals in our city & more

Living in my car - Stacey and her husband have four children and they’re homeless in Mitchelstown..Would you know if you had or you were developing diabetes - what are the symptoms?..Vandalism in our City - why do people want to destroy nice things & lots more * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

2h 4m
Aug 10
Mairead Helps GAA Offer Mental Health Support In Australia!

The GAA in Australia's Central Coast is a hub for all Irish living there and they fell in to ensure those with mental health needs feel comfortable coming forward Mairead O'Connor, originally from Newmarket, tells PJ.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

7m
Aug 10
Classrooms Urgently Need More Resources

PJ talks to INTO President, Corkman John Driscoll about what they hope the government will prioritize in the upcoming budget.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

10m
Aug 10
Customers Stalking Businesses

Mary Crilly of the Cork Sexual Violence Centre tells PJ that she was shocked to hear that a new tactic is stalking business people after a row over a job. Need help? www.stalkinginireland.ie * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

6m
Aug 10
Homeless Mitchelstown Couple Live In Car

PJ talks to Stacey about the heartbreaking stress and daily routine of what is like to be living in a car while your kids are living with relatives. * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

7m
Aug 10
Best Of Cork Triumph For Dean Hotel

Fiona talks to Ian Keating of the Dean Hotel, overall winner of the Cork's 96FM Best Of Cork awards.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

5m
Aug 10
Eagles Fledged A Chick In West Cork

PJ talks to Clare Heardman of the National Parks and Wildlife Service  Also check out photos: https://www.facebook.com/GlengarriffWoodsNatureReserve * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

4m
Aug 10
Queen Of Corktown 2022

PJ talks to Sara Gum who won Queen Of Corktown, celebrating Cork/Detroit links, to Claudia Rea who uniquely served 2 years because of the Pandemic and to Sheila Cassidy, Chair of the Detroit United Irish Societies, who keeps the whole show on the road! * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

7m
Aug 10
2022-08-09 Skydiving for Marymount, one Corkwomans UK success, Hedgehogs in danger in Cobh & more

Sharon wants to do a skydive for Marymount - she needs a plane and a parachute - we sorted it!.. The Corkwoman behind one of Britains most successful waste management companies.. Drive slowly on your way to Cobh - there are hedgehogs crossing & lots more * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

2h 9m
Aug 09
Jacqueline O'Donovan Cork Success In London

PJ talks to Goleen's own Jacqueline O'Donovan who built a waste business success story in London.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

12m
Aug 09
Sharon Organizes A Skydive For Marymount On Air!

Sharon wants to do a Skydive for Marymount but has no idea how to do it. Fergus from Irish Parachute Club called in to help.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

13m
Aug 09
Little Luna's SCID Journey

PJ talks to Fiona about her baby Luna in hospital in the UK with SCID. We find out more about the disease and the treatment the little mite is getting. Support Luna: https://www.gofundme.com/f/support-little-lunas-scid-journey * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

9m
Aug 09
Hide And Seek By Andrea Mara

PJ catches up with Andrea about to talk about her latest novel "Hide And Seek"  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

8m
Aug 09
Food Venues Need To Tolerate Our Kids Too

Clodagh was eating out in Cork and made feel unwelcome because her kid lives with autism and climbs chairs. She tells PJ places need to be more tolerant in this day and age.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

7m
Aug 09
Cobh Works For Hedgehog Road Safety

Dr Mary Stack and Hendrick Verwey tell PJ that distressing spikes in hedgehog deaths led to a drive to improve safety for the little fellas.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

10m
Aug 09
2022-08-08 Corks new traffic arrangements, Will you go cashless, Back to School in two weeks and more

New traffic arrangements on Corks northside - do you know what they are - because they start tomorrow..Cash, card or even using your phone - how important is that choice - would you shop in a place that refuses cash?.. How prepared are you for back to school? It’ll be here before you know it & lots more * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

2h 12m
Aug 08
Each Sibling Handles Grief Differently

The difference between one sibling and another after a loss can even disrupt the grieving process PJ tells Integrative Counsellor Evie Flynn who talks through the best way to accommodate everyone * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

10m
Aug 08
Difference Between German and Irish Disability Experience

PJ talks to disability activist Evelyne Cynk who is moving from Germany to Ireland and who says Ireland has a lot to recommend it to people living with disabilities. * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

9m
Aug 08
In-Laws Interfering In My Life

Miceal from Munster Mediation tells PJ interfering in-laws is an issue he is seeing more of in his work and has some tips on what to do if you are experiencing it.  * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

10m
Aug 08
Get Organized For Back To School

Just over two weeks to go and Lynda Di Blasi, declutter coach, organizer and Personal stylist says now is the time to get things right. She tells PJ Coogan advance practice makes perfect! * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

6m
Aug 08
Looking For Emily - An Adventure Novel For Kids

Adventure novels help kids try out being an adult Fiona Longmuir, author of "Looking For Emily" for kids aged 10+, tells PJ * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

6m
Aug 08
Gorgeous Darcy Is Cork's Hopeful For The Doggie Nose Of Tralee

PJ gets to learn about Darcy, a gorgeous poodle, the Rebel Nose of Tralee hopeful, and has a chat with owner Laura.  Vote For Darcy here: https://www.petsittersireland.com/vote-nose/?entry_id=199886991 * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

6m
Aug 08
2022-08-05 Saving a Life in Ringabella Bay, Food Labels How Do You Know It's Irish? Dress codes what's acceptable to wear & more

Olan and his colleagues from Funkytown Adventure Centre went to the rescue of two people who got cut off in Ringabella Bay and tried to swim to Fountainstown. Food Labels what's the difference between Breaded Irish Chicken and Irish Breaded Chicken we find out! What can I wear? How to dress appropriately in hot weather & lots more * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

2h 1m
Aug 05
Why Are Car Prices So High?

Conor Faughnan speaks to PJ about the second-hand car shortage and what is contributing to high Irish car prices * See acast.com/privacy https://acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

13m
Aug 05