Tennessee Home & Farm Radio

TN Home and Farm Radio

About

Online Resources for Agriculture News & Events in Tennessee

Available on

Community

850 episodes

Corn Harvest Begins

Just a few months ago farmers in West Tennessee were hopeful for another bumper corn crop, but now as harvest begins, the extreme drought conditions have shown what that will do to yields. The post Corn Harvest Begins https://tnfarmbureau.org/corn-harvest-begins-2 appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 18
Tennessee Leads Way In Ag Research

For decades Tennessee has been a leader in ag research. Newly hired Senior Vice Chancellor of University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture, Dr. Carrie Castile, says she wants to continue that legacy. The post Tennessee Leads Way In Ag Research https://tnfarmbureau.org/tennessee-leads-way-in-ag-research appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 17
Consumer Price Index Shows Inflation Remains High

July inflation numbers came out last week from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Micheal Clements shares what they mean for farmers and ranchers. The post Consumer Price Index Shows Inflation Remains High https://tnfarmbureau.org/consumer-price-index-shows-inflation-remains-high appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 15
County Farm Bureau Presidents Gather In Franklin

County Farm Bureau Presidents from across Tennessee are gathering for the annual Farm Bureau Presidents Conference in Franklin. A few talk about the importance of this meeting. The post County Farm Bureau Presidents Gather In Franklin https://tnfarmbureau.org/county-farm-bureau-presidents-gather-in-franklin appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 12
Farm Bill Perspectives, Part 1: Importance of the Safety Net

As lawmakers prepare to write the next farm bill, the American Farm Bureau Federation is sharing stories of its importance to agriculture. Micheal Clements shares more on how the safety net included in the farm bill keeps farmers farming. The post Farm Bill Perspectives, Part 1: Importance of the Safety Net https://tnfarmbureau.org/farm-bill-perspectives-part-1-importance-of-the-safety-net appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 11
Honoring the Top Crop of Future Agriculturists

The Top 4-H and FFA students of West Tennessee gathered with the advisors and supporters to celebrate their accomplishments within their given organization. The post Honoring the Top Crop of Future Agriculturists https://tnfarmbureau.org/honoring-the-top-crop-of-future-agriculturists appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 10
Tennessee Angus Field Day Returns

The annual Tennessee Angus Field Day was recently helds in Dresden, TN. Members of the Tennessee Angus Association discuss how the field day was a success, and why it’s important to have it. The post Tennessee Angus Field Day Returns https://tnfarmbureau.org/tennessee-angus-field-day-returns appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 09
August Congressional Recess Provides Perfect Time to Advocate for Agriculture

Members of the U.S. House of Representatives have recently left town for the annual August congressional recess, and the Senate will soon follow suit. Chad Smith has more on why now is the perfect time for Farm Bureau members to advocate for agriculture. The post August Congressional Recess Provides Perfect Time to Advocate for Agriculture https://tnfarmbureau.org/august-congressional-recess-provides-perfect-time-to-advocate-for-agriculture appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 08
Climate Smart Agriculture

Climate Smart Agriculture is the latest buzz word in the agriculture industry. Climate Smart Agriculture promotes using farming practices that are good for the environment. While the prasing might be new the practices are not, as farmers in Tennessee have been using them for decades. The post Climate Smart Agriculture https://tnfarmbureau.org/climate-smart-agriculture appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 05
4-H International Students Visit Tennessee

After a 20 year pause Tennessee 4-H is participating in the international exchange program. Several international exchange students from Japan are here visiting with 4-H students in Tennessee. The post 4-H International Students Visit Tennessee https://tnfarmbureau.org/4-h-international-students-visit-tennessee appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 03
Tennessee Farmers Working On Farm Bill

A group of farmers from across Tennessee recently gathered for a working group to discuss what priorities need to be included in the next farm bill. The group discussed the importance of keep current provisions in the new Farm Bill like crop insurance, and funding for research, and also adding funding and language regarding cyber […] The post Tennessee Farmers Working On Farm Bill https://tnfarmbureau.org/tennessee-farmers-working-on-farm-bill appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 02
The Continuing Success of No-Till

For the first time since 2018, the Milan No-Till Field Day was held in-person at the University of Tennessee AgResearch and Education Center in Milan. The post The Continuing Success of No-Till https://tnfarmbureau.org/the-continuing-success-of-no-till appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Aug 01
Stars Touring the State

The Tennessee FFA stars have had an exciting week on the Tennessee FFA Star Tour. The post Stars Touring the State https://tnfarmbureau.org/stars-touring-the-state appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 29
From The Football Field To The Hay Field

MTSU football players Seth Falley, and Wilson Kelley have spent their summer working on the MTSU farm. They detail what the experience has been like and why they wanted to do it. The post From The Football Field To The Hay Field https://tnfarmbureau.org/from-the-football-field-to-the-hay-field appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 28
Blue Jackets Lead to Golden Memories

FFA members gathered this summer at Camp Clements to make memories, meaningful connections and grow as leaders. The post Blue Jackets Lead to Golden Memories https://tnfarmbureau.org/blue-jackets-lead-to-golden-memories appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 27
Ag in the Classroom Teacher Workshops

Teachers from across the state gathered at various locations for Ag in the Classroom teacher workshops. There were eleven teacher workshops throughout the month of June providing teachers with curriculum to bring agriculture into their classrooms. The post Ag in the Classroom Teacher Workshops https://tnfarmbureau.org/ag-in-the-classroom-teacher-workshops appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 26
West Tennessee Farmers Pray For Rain As Drought Worsens

The north western part of Tennessee was recently elevated to a severe level for drought. Farmers in that area talk about what it’s been like dealing with the extreme dry weather, and why they’re still holding out hope for their crops. The post West Tennessee Farmers Pray For Rain As Drought Worsens https://tnfarmbureau.org/west-tennessee-farmers-pray-for-rain-as-drought-worsens appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 25
Hitting the Ground Running

Dr. Carrie Castille is off and running as the new senior vice chancellor and senior vice president for the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture. The post Hitting the Ground Running https://tnfarmbureau.org/hitting-the-ground-running appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 22
Shaping the Future Together Through 4-H

Hundreds of high school age 4-H’ers have been attending 4-H Roundup this week on the campus of UT Martin. The post Shaping the Future Together Through 4-H https://tnfarmbureau.org/shaping-the-future-together-through-4-h appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 21
Teaching Farm Safety To Young Farmers

The Kentucky Department of Agriculture and Tennessee Rescue Association have been partnering to teach farm safety to farmers in both states over the last few years. They recently taught a session at the Tennessee Farm Bureau Young Farmers and Ranchers annual Conference. The post Teaching Farm Safety To Young Farmers https://tnfarmbureau.org/teaching-farm-safety-to-young-farmers appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 20
Derek and Micayla Giffin Named Young Farmers of The Year

Obion County natives Derek and Micayla Giffin are this years Young Farmers of The Year. The couple explains what it means to them to be awarded this high honor. The post Derek and Micayla Giffin Named Young Farmers of The Year https://tnfarmbureau.org/derek-and-micayla-giffin-named-young-farmers-of-the-year appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 19
Benefiting Farmers and the Environment

Genera Energy has been acquired by Ara Partners, a private equity firm that specializes in industrial decarbonization investments, and they have committed substantial capital support for expansion in Tennessee and across the country. The post Benefiting Farmers and the Environment https://tnfarmbureau.org/benefiting-farmers-and-the-environment-2 appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 18
Inflation Continues To Hit Tennessee Farmers

The recent inflation report shows prices continue to go up on pretty much everything. Tennessee farmers explain how the historic inflation is impacting their operations. The post Inflation Continues To Hit Tennessee Farmers https://tnfarmbureau.org/inflation-continues-to-hit-tennessee-farmers appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 15
Report Says U.S. Losing Farmland at an “Alarming” Rate

A new report says the U.S. is losing farmland to development and other uses at an alarming rate. Gary Crawford has more. The post Report Says U.S. Losing Farmland at an “Alarming” Rate https://tnfarmbureau.org/report-says-u-s-losing-farmland-at-an-alarming-rate appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 14
USDA Acreage Report Shows Farmers are Staying the Course

USDA last week reported planted acreage for the current crop year. While there was little surprise in the numbers, Micheal Clements shares there may be changes to the data later this year. The post USDA Acreage Report Shows Farmers are Staying the Course https://tnfarmbureau.org/usda-acreage-report-shows-farmers-are-staying-the-course appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 13
Tennessee Farmers Optimistic Despite Dry Conditions

Much of Tennessee is still dry despite showers that moved through the state over the weekend. Farmers are still keeping a positive outlook despite the dry conditions. The post Tennessee Farmers Optimistic Despite Dry Conditions https://tnfarmbureau.org/tennessee-farmers-optimistic-despite-dry-conditions appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 12
War In Ukraine Hits Home For Local Farmer

The war in Ukraine hits close to home for Benton County farmer Mike Katrusa. He and his Mother came to America from Ukraine in 2006. Mike discusses what it’s like to see his former Country under attack, and how he was in Ukraine right before the invasion. The post War In Ukraine Hits Home For Local Farmer https://tnfarmbureau.org/war-in-ukraine-hits-home-for-local-farmer appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 11
Making the Best Better a World Away

An amazing opportunity for the Tennessee 4-H program as a small delegation is in Botswana, Africa helping to teach and show young kids there how the program is universal in its service to others. The post Making the Best Better a World Away https://tnfarmbureau.org/making-the-best-better-a-world-away appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 08
A Cooperative Spirit

The Tennessee Farmers Cooperative management training program is helping to keep the co-op spirit strong. The post A Cooperative Spirit https://tnfarmbureau.org/a-cooperative-spirit-2 appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 07
Dry Conditions Becoming More Serious

While some of us have had those pop-up showers to bring some relief over the past few weeks, others haven’t had any.   The post Dry Conditions Becoming More Serious https://tnfarmbureau.org/dry-conditions-becoming-more-serious appeared first on Tennessee Farm Bureau https://tnfarmbureau.org.

2m
Jul 06